Author Topic: Query Before Completed MS?  (Read 2826 times)

Offline blgarver

• Conversationalist
  • There are three things all wise men fear...
    • View Profile
    • Video Samples
Query Before Completed MS?
« on: November 05, 2007, 02:08:41 PM »
I was wondering...

Do some writers query before they finish their manuscript, or even before they begin writing their manuscript?  I think I read that on another board somewhere. 

Just wondering, because I'd be freakin terrified to send anything out before I at least had a first draft.  And I probably won't end up querying until I have a final MS (final as far as I'm concerned, anyway).

BLG
I'm a videographer by trade.  Check out my work if you're a writer that needs to procrastinate.  Not as good as Rhett and Link, but I do what I can.
http://vimeo.com/user1855060/videos

Offline meg_evonne

• Posty McPostington
  • With an eye made quiet by the power of harmony
    • View Profile
Re: Query Before Completed MS?
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2007, 04:54:15 PM »
From what I hear, your instincts are correct.  Wait until you have the MS complete AND make sure your first 90 pages are as perfect as possible.  Sounds like its query-->then they hopefully will ask for 90 pages if interested -- followed by manuscript.  Further suggestion was send out to five agents, if you get negs then redo your query and try another five etc. Good luck!

"Calypso was offerin' Odysseus immortality, darlin'. Penelope offered him endurin' love. I myself just wanted some company." John Henry (Doc) Holliday from "Doc" by Mary Dorla Russell
Photo from Avatar.com by the Domestic Goddess

Offline the neurovore of Zur-En-Aargh

• O. M. G.
  • Riding eternal, shiny and Firefox
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2007, 05:46:53 PM »
Do some writers query before they finish their manuscript, or even before they begin writing their manuscript?  I think I read that on another board somewhere.