Linked Events

• TC signing in Lexington, KY: April 14, 2009

Author Topic: April 14: TC signing in Lexington, KY  (Read 24705 times)

Offline BookLover♥

• Posty McPostington
  • Pass-Set-Crush!
    • View Profile
Re: April 14: TC signing in Lexington, KY
« Reply #30 on: March 25, 2009, 02:43:54 AM »
Ok, so I'm new to the whole book signing... I'll have already gotten my copy of Turn Coat when it's released, so do I still need to get an event ticket?  Can you explain more about that?

Offline BrianSFG

• Lurker
    • View Profile
« Reply #31 on: March 25, 2009, 03:23:49 PM »
Sure, events tickets are used for a number of purposes for bigger authors.  1) We only get more authors if we have good signings.  The evaluation is based on a number of things: media, attendance, but most of all front list sales, i.e. the new book.  These are in-store sales, not from other places in town.  It's unfair, but that's one of the ways we get judged.  It helps that we are a reporting store to the New York Times and Bookscan to help get Turncoat on the bestseller's list for the next week.  One of the big reasons an author tours the first two weeks of a release is to get on the bestsellers list.  2) This also helps us take care of our regular customers first.  We like to bring in authors to make our store a great place to meet people and to hang out.  Most early line numbers are grabbed by our local customers.  3) This allows us to set up the lines in order of when people bought the book instead of how soon people arrive. This helps people coming in from work or other situations where they can not wait around for a long time.  ie kids, husband, wives, and other people who might not understand why you should leave work early to go see some author that they have never heard of.