Author Topic: More Info Please  (Read 2104 times)

Offline Roaram

• Participant
    • View Profile
More Info Please
« on: December 09, 2008, 08:47:46 PM »
I am an aspiring writer, and have been reading every article that I can get my hands on aboout what new writers do wrong. I have seen many article that say don't tell show, beware the info dump, and don't jump point of view too much or eratically.

And I get it too. The problem is, as I see it, all my favorite Authors change point of view. now I see info dumps and say "yeesh", and I notice when the writing retreats into blurred motion, when I would love to see the action (even Jim sometimes) but the POV I don't get.
I was wondering if anyone had professional examples or knew where to get them of awell written scene(s) vs the same scene done poorly?  I just want examples, either from a publisher or published writer so I know what not to do, thanks.

Offline Starbeam

• Posty McPostington
  • Twitter: @stellamortis
    • View Profile
    • Stella Mortis
Re: More Info Please
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2008, 09:54:08 PM »
You'll always see the authors doing exactly what they say not to do.  Stephen King is a big one on that.  He says not to use a lot of words or go overboard on adverbs, and such, and then when you read his books, he's very verbose when he really doesn't need to be.  With POV, it's more for someone who's beginning to write.  It's a whole lot easier to keep track of one person's POV than it is to keep track of something like 15 different POVs.  Sort of like the difference between any book written in first person, and a George R R Martin book, or a Robert Jordan book.  The more POV characters that are introduced, the more difficult it gets for the reader to follow along.  Plus, it's pretty rare that you'll find any author that changes POV character in the middle of a scene.